Wednesday, 05 October 2022

A*Star re-shuffles board members

01 February 2013 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Ministry for Trade and Industry (MTI) re-shuffles A*Star board members

Ministry for Trade and Industry (MTI) re-shuffles A*Star board members

Singapore: The Ministry for Trade and Industry (MTI), Singapore, has made appointment changes at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), effective February 01, 2013. MTI also appointed three new members and re-appointed 14 existing members to the A*Star board. 

New board members are Prof Isaac Ben-Israel, chairman, Israel Space Agency and chairman, Israel National Council for R&D; Prof Jonathan Knowles, distinguished professor, Institute for Molecular Medicine, Finland, and Nordic EMBL Partnership for Molecular Medicine; and Professor emeritus, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland; Prof Sir Keith O'Nions, president and rector, Imperial College, London.

Re-appointed board members are Prof Tan Chorh Chuan, deputy cChairman, A*STAR and president, National University of Singapore; Prof Bertil Andersson, president, Nanyang Technological University; Mr Bruce Brown, CTO, Procter & Gamble; Dr William Chin, executive dean for research, professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School; Mr Ng Cher Pong, deputy secretary (policy), Ministry of Education; Mr Ng Wai Choong, deputy secretary (policy), Ministry of Finance; Prof Sir John O'Reilly, vice chancellor, Cranfield University (until February 3, 2013) and director general of Knowledge and Innovation, Department of Business, Innovation and Skills (wef February 4, 2013).

Other members who have been appointed to the board are: Mr Ong Boon Hwee, MD, Beyond Horizon Consulting; Prof Sir George Radda, chairman, Biomedical Research Council, A*Star; Dr Sun Shih Wei, vice chairman, United Microelectronics; Prof Tan Eng Chye, deputy president (Academic Affairs) and provost, National University of Singapore; Mr Tan Kok Kiong Andrew, CEO, National Environment Agency; Dr Patrick Vallance, president, Pharmaceuticals R&D, GlaxoSmithKline; Dr Tadataka Yamada, CSO and executive VP, Takeda Pharmaceuticals.

Three board members will be stepping down upon the completion of their terms on January 31, 2013. They are Prof Sir Alex Markham, professor of medicine, University of Leeds; Lord Ronald Oxburgh, deputy chairman of the Science and Engineering Research Council and House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology (UK); and Prof Charles Zukoski, provost and executive director (academic affairs), University of Buffalo, US.

Sign up for the editor pick and get articles like this delivered right to your inbox.

Editors Pick
+Country Code-Phone Number(xxx-xxxxxxx)


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account